PRO 9 Commemorates 24th PNP Founding Day

Written by PINSP DAHLAN T SAMUDDIN on . Posted in Activities

Police Regional Office 9 will commemorate the 24th Foundation Day of the Philippine National Police on February 9, 2015 at Camp Colonel Romeo A. Abedan, Mercedes, Zamboanga City. The Philippine National Police organization is on its 24th year of its existence as the primary law enforcement agency of the country. It is bestowed with the mission to enforce the law, prevent and control crimes, maintain peace and order and ensure public safety and internal security with the active support of the community.

The celebration will be spearheaded by the Police Regional Office 9 Chief, Police Chief Superintendent Edgar Orduña Basbas. Honorable Ma. Isabelle Climaco-Salazar, Mayor of Zamboanga City will be the guest of honor and speaker for the said occasion.

The Police Regional Office 9 will celebrate this year’s PNP Foundation Day in a simple yet meaningful manner. This is for the reason that the Command is still observing the mourning period over the untimely death of the fallen 44 SAF members.

The celebration will start with the arrival honor to be accorded to the guest of honor and speaker, followed by the Command’s traditional Monday Flag Raising Ceremony. It will be highlighted by the giving of awards to deserving PRO9 personnel in recognition of their hard work and sacrifices towards the attainment of the mission and assigned tasks. This will be followed by the signing of the PNP Integrity Pledge.

The PNP came into existence on January 29, 1991 by virtue of Republic Act 6975 entitled “An Act Establishing the Philippine National Police under a Reorganized Department of the Interior and Local Government and for other purposes”. It mandated the abolition of the Philippine Constabulary/Integrated National Police which led to the creation of the Philippine National Police with the members of the PC/INP as its nucleus.

The PNP and Policing in the Philippines began on June 23, 1898 when the Department of Police and Internal Order was established by the Constitution of the Revolutionary Government under General Emilio Aguinaldo. On August 8, 1901, the Insular Constabulary was established and created by Commission Act No. 175 with Captain Henry T. Allen as its first Chief. It is became the forerunner of National Policing in the Philippines.

On December 1902, the Insular Constabulary was renamed into Philippine Constabulary. Since then, the national police have undergone several changes and transformation. In 1950, the Philippine Constabulary became a major command of the Armed Forces of the Philippines by virtue of Executive Order No. 389.

On August 8, 1975, the Philippine Constabulary and the Integrated National Police were merged into one organization, by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 765. In 1986 after the EDSA Revolution, a new constitution was promulgated providing police force which is “national in scope and civilian in character”. Hence, on January 29, 1991, Republic Act 6975 was enacted, signaling the birth of the Philippine National Police, with Police Director General Cesar Nazareno as its first chief.

Lock full review 888 Bookmaker

Connect with us